Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congressman Gene Green

Representing the 29th District of Texas

Rep. Gene Green Upholds the Principle of “One Person, One Vote”

November 17, 2016
Press Release
Calls to Abolish the Electoral College

WASHINGTON, D.C. – On Thursday, November 17th, Congressman Gene Green will introduce legislation in the House of Representatives to amend the Constitution of the United States to abolish the Electoral College and instead use direct election to decide presidential elections. The resolution is co-sponsored by 16 Members of Congress. In the Senate, Senator Barbara Boxer (D-Calif.) filed legislation Tuesday, November 15th, to abolish the Electoral College in light of Democratic presidential nominee Hillary Clinton winning the popular vote but still losing the election.

“This marks the second time in 16 years that a clear plurality of Americans voted for a presidential candidate who did not win the White House, undermining our nation’s most basic principles of democracy and equality,” said Congressman Gene Green.

“In 1913, Congress and the states trusted the people to elect their Senators. Do we trust the people today? Every American citizen’s presidential vote should count equally in 2016, not just the votes of delegates in the Electoral College who are not bound to follow the will of the people. Our modern democracy calls for every vote to carry the same weight in the election, no matter where in the nation it was cast,” added Green.

The Electoral College was created in the 18th century when communications were poor, literacy was low, and voters lacked information about out-of-state candidates. Section Three of Congressman Green’s proposed Amendment reads:  “The persons having the greatest number of votes for President and Vice President shall be elected.”

The co-sponsors of the resolution are: Reps. Brendan Boyle, Julia Brownley, David Cicilline, Yvette Clarke, Steve Cohen, Keith Ellison, John Garamendi, Jared Huffman, Steve Israel, Ted Lieu, James McGovern, Jan Schakowsky, Jose Serrano, Eric Swalwell, Juan Vargas, and Filemon Vela.