Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Congressman Gene Green

Representing the 29th District of Texas

Rep. Gene Green leads Keystone XL Pipeline support letter to President Obama

October 19, 2011
Press Release

Washington, D.C. –  Today, Congressman Gene Green led a letter to President Obama in support of the Keystone XL Pipeline Project as a key project of national interest in creating domestic jobs, raising revenue, and securing America’s energy independence.  Twenty-one other Democrats also signed on to the letter requesting that the President grant a Presidential Permit to move forward with construction.

The Keystone XL Pipeline project is estimated to bring in $20 billion of private sector investment into the American economy, create 20,000 direct jobs, spur the creation of 118,000 spin-off jobs, and pay out $5 billion in taxes to local counties over the project’s lifetime, in addition to contributing to America’s energy security and strengthening our national security. 

Congressman Green stated, “Across the U.S., Americans are calling for jobs today and the Keystone XL Pipeline project will do exactly that plus provide huge benefits to our national and local economies, and increase our energy supply and independence from foreign oil.  I urge the President to act now and grant the permit so we can get started on this as soon as possible.”

The project, which has bipartisan support in Congress, has also earned the support of national and local groups in the states along the pipeline’s route.  An exhaustive three-year, multi-agency review process, which the Department of State has led, confirmed that the pipeline will have a positive impact on America’s economy, energy supply and independence from foreign oil, and national security. 

Representatives who signed Congressman Green’s letter are: Jason Altmire (PA-4), Joe Baca (CA-43), John Barrow (GA-12), Dan Boren (OK-2), Leonard Boswell (IA-3), Robert Brady (PA-1), Jim Costa (CA-20), Mark Critz (PA-12), Henry Cuellar (TX-28), Charlie Gonzalez (TX-20), Al Green (TX-9), Rubén Hinojosa (TX-15), Tim Holden (PA-17), Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18), Daniel Lipinski (IL-3), Jim Matheson (UT-2), Carolyn McCarthy (NY-4), Bill Owens (NY-23), Collin Peterson (MN-7), Mike Ross (AR-4), and Peter Visclosky (IN-1).

A copy of the letter can be found below.